The Seven Spiritual Laws of Yoga

A known expert in the field of mind-body medicine, yoga and Ayurveda, Deepak Chopra MD has established his own yoga practice in Carlsbad, California called the The Chopra Center. His program, called The Seven Spiritual Laws of Yoga combines traditional yogic principles with new age spiritual concepts taken from his book “The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success.” As Chopra teaches the traditional yoga postures, he incorporates these seven principles within the practice.

Law of Pure Potentiality

The Law of Pure Potentiality is based on the idea that our essential nature is experienced as pure consciousness, or creative energy which can create infinite possibilities. By entering a mindful yoga practice, one connects naturally to this creative energy. When attention and intention accompany pranayamic breathing, energies are directed toward healing and renewal. The law of pure potentiality may be experienced in the quiet space between each yoga posture. It reminds us that in every moment, we can choose to be healthy, joyful and loving.

Law of Giving and Receiving

“Its in giving that we receive and in pardoning that we are pardoned.”-Prayer of St. Francis

Chopra explains that giving and receiving come from the same flow of energy. The Law of Giving and Receiving represents the idea that in order to receive something, we must first give it away. For example, in order to attain an abundant life that is full of love, you must give of yourself in both of these areas. As it applies to a yoga practice, the law of giving and receiving is experienced during the yogic breath. This breath becomes the link between the mind and body, as well as a link between one another.

Law of Karma

Every action taken sends a particular energy out into the world. Choosing actions which bring success and happiness to other people will bring this energy back. Words and deeds become the fruit of our karma. This law reminds us that every choice has a consequence. When applied to a yoga practice, the Law of Karma is experienced as sensations in the body. During yoga, one connects to the Law of Karma by paying attention to the sensations which arise in the body and seeking to unearth the emotional connection.

Law of Least Effort

The law of least effort states that when your actions are motivated by love, your desires have the ability to become realized. A major part of this is to experience awareness and acceptance of the present moment. Chopra explains that our desires are most easily fulfilled when we expend a lot of effort trying to control what is going on in our lives. A regular yoga practice becomes a means for embracing the present and allowing the universe to work on your behalf instead.

Law of Intention and Desire

This spiritual law is based on the idea that every desire contains a means for its fulfillment. By experiencing a stillness of mind through yoga postures, your inner intentions become aligned with the universe’s creative energies. As this connection is strengthened regularly through yoga, manifestation of these desires may unfold effortlessly.

Law of Detachment

The law of detachment states that at the level of spirit, everything is always unfolding exactly as it should. Struggling or forcing things to go the way we want them to will create chaos. Instead, our job is to establish an intention of what we want to happen and simply let go of the how, when, why and where. Chopra says that the key to a successful yoga practice and a successful life is to learn to let go of an attachment to results.

Law of Dharma

This law is based on the philosophy that we all have our own purpose, or role to fill within this life. When we express our individual gifts, we are living out the law of dharma. Chopra explains that by using our talents to bless others, we will experience an unlimited supply of love, abundance and fulfillment. During yoga, we can connect to this principle by noticing the unique way that we each perform each posture. This principle may then be carried over into our lives as we recognize the uniqueness of our own personal expression.


By: Jessica Adams (G+)